String quilt finish

I managed to learn a new technique and finish the string quilt I began back in June of 2010! Click the link to see some block layouts I tried.

The blocks stayed in a plastic tub on my shelf, because there was no recipient slated for it, and I didn’t have a deadline. I learned that about myself, I need a deadline. I saw this post on Margaret’s Hope Chest blog, and decided the string quilt can be finished and used for this purpose. Check it out, and see if you know anyone that can help out this great cause.

String quilt complete
String quilt complete

I am not going to write out the tutorial for Quilt-as-you-go sashing, because so many others have done it. What I would do, though, is adjust what I did so that the sashing is a bit narrower. All my great corner fabrics were hidden! I used the same fabric for front and back sashing, and at the end of cutting the strips, I had a piece left that is 2″ by about 20″. Just enough!

As I was trying a layout, I wanted the heart shape, but wanted only 5 blocks wide instead of 6 as I tried a couple of years ago. I made it 4 blocks wide and cut blocks in half as a kind of self border. I’m very pleased with how it looks!

View of the lake on a snowy January day.
View of the lake on a snowy January day.

Since this is my view today, I think I’ll be sewing some more! Projects recently completed include doll clothes and wool mittens, but today I’m going to concentrate on fleece vests for myself.

9 thoughts on “String quilt finish

  1. Goodmorning!
    I found your wonderful blog post on this string quilt through google. I am composing a blog for the school I work for here in The Netherands in Europe. I am planning a quilt drive for a children’s home in Mexico City. Another Quilter, Alison from Little Island Quilting in the UK, started the Soy Amando project in 2014. I just heard that the home is expanding and they need more quilts. The children in my art classes want to help create quilts.
    I was wondering if I could use your picture on my blog (in Dutch) showing the children what a string quilt with sashings would look like?
    Of course I will provide full credit and a link to your blog.

    With kind regards,

    Esther Frenzel Sint-Janscollege, Hoensbroek
    personal blog: ipatchandquilt.wordpress.com
    quilt drive blog (under construction): sintjanquilt.wordpress.com
    school website: sintjan-lvo.nl

    1. Hello Esther,
      You are very welcome to use my picture. It was my first attempt, and I found it an easy quilt to make. I have used the string blocks to make two other projects as well. My family heritage is Dutch, by the way, DeGoede was the Dutch spelling of my maiden name DeGood.
      Donna

      1. Thank you very much Donna! That is wonderful!!!
        I will let you know when I have linked the picture to your blog!
        Thank you again
        Esther

  2. Hi Donna,
    The blogsite is “live”. Thank you for letting me use your photograph! I will send you pictures of the quilts the kids will create!
    Esther Frenzel

  3. Hello I just seen this lovely quilt it’s amazing. Love the heart design that’s incorporated.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.