Piecing and quilting all in one

ragged pieced doll quilt
Lilly’s doll’s quilt

I’ve seen quilts made by others using this technique, but I hadn’t tried it for myself. One granddaughter is receiving a rag doll from us for Christmas, and I decided (of course!) the dolly needs a quilt.

I started with two pieces of white cotton with  batting pinned between. Then I got into my stash of small pieces of fabric to start placing colorful squares and rectangles.

ImageThe lavender with lady bugs is leftover from making the same granddaughter a sundress with hat and diaper cover. Other fabrics will also be familiar in the quilts I’ve made when she and her brothers were babies.

I pinned the fabric and stitched about 1/8″ from the raw edge, backstitching where I began and ended. This leaves a small amount of fabric to unravel in the wash. I left white space between, to act as sashing and to separate the fabric designs and colors. As I was placing them, I decided to concentrate on pink, yellow, green and purple.

Image
pinned squares

I would pin several pieces, then stitch them, and repeat. With a doll-sized quilt, it was quick and easy. I enjoy looking at the quilting design on the back as I go.

Image
quilting

When it was complete, I trimmed the edges and bound it with more sugary-pink fabric. Now I have to mail it off the the granddaughter so her baby doll won’t be cold on Christmas morning.

ImageImage

Merry Christmas!

3 thoughts on “Piecing and quilting all in one

  1. I LOVE making these little ticker tape quilts for dollies! Instead of pins I use a glue stick (pricked myself too many times while quilting them in place), and I use my free motion foot to go around the edge to avoid having to rotate the quilt a million times! I’m sure your grand daughter will love it!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.