Tutorial: eyeglass case

I needed a new eyeglass case, and I thought I would write the tutorial as I’m making it. It’s pretty simple and very fast to make!

First, I needed a scrap of cotton fabric for the outside, some fusible interfacing, and soft flannel for the lining.

Shown above is the old eyeglass case I had been using. It fit some previous smaller glasses I carried, but I needed something a little larger. I cut all three pieces of fabric 6 inches long and 5 5/8 inches wide. Fuse the interfacing to the back side of the outer fabric. I had to piece the fabric I chose because it was very long and not very wide.

Place the wrong sides of the flannel and the outer fabric together and pin.

Choose something large and round, about the size of a dinner plate, to make a curved corner. You are looking at the inside of the case, and the curved edge will be the upper left. Trim where you mark.

Use a short, narrow zigzag to finish the edges. On my machine, the settings were 3.0 wide and 1.0 long. Stitch only the curve first.

Fold in half, left over right, so that the edges meet. Starting at either the top or bottom edge, stitch around 3 sides. You are finished!

If you find this is too large for your glasses, it’s easy to cut at the right edge and stitch again.

8 thoughts on “Tutorial: eyeglass case

  1. I have been looking for some easy crafts that I’ll be giving as xmas gifts. I am going to make a few of these cases and also make pocket tissue cases with matching fabric to create sets. I’ll let you know how they come out.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.