New and Improved and Now In Michigan!

Yes, I’m excited. We have moved into our home in Michigan. My husband has already found a new job and is working daily, with overtime even. I’m still trying to fit everything into a house 1/3 the size of the old one.  Something has to go!

Before we left Missouri we had a garage sale and sold quite a bit. Once we arrived we found a lot more had to go and had another garage sale! Now I’ve got an ad on Craigslist, looking for a local quilting group that will use donated fabric for charity quilts. I know there is no way I can make enough quilt tops with my stash to make a dent any time soon.

I’m looking for work, and meanwhile I found a little time to work on the maze quilt. This is a baby quilt, for a player to be named later. It’s simply a design I wanted to challenge myself to make.maze quilt topThe “entrance” is on the left, 10th row from the top, and the “exit” is on the right, 16th row from the top. Yes, a reading teacher cannot do it otherwise, left to right is the rule. I just need to make a “go” symbol for the entrance, and a goal or home symbol for the exit, and incorporate them into the border.

I am so happy to be in Michigan, and if a job doesn’t show up on my horizon soon, I’ll be happily quilting here.

 

9 responses to “New and Improved and Now In Michigan!

  1. Welcome to beautiful Michigan! It was so nice to see your name pop up on my email! 🙂

  2. I, too, am from Michigan. Don’t know exactly where you are at, but I know our guild puts together charity quilts all the time from donated fabric. It’s the Macomb County Quilt Guild. I am sure you could google it if you are in that area. Welcome!

  3. Simply Amazing, might have to try this one.

  4. Welcome to Michigan. I lived in Grand Rapids for 8 happy years. Pardon the pun, but your quilt is a-maze-ing! 😉

  5. I just happened to find this quilt, and to say I love it is putting it mildly. You don’t happen to have a pattern for it do you?? I will try just going through your post but a pattern SURE WOULD HELP. Patti

    • Sorry, no pattern. Thank you for the love, I love it too. It is still unfinished but I will get to the quilting of it soon. I colored in squares on paper, drew lines around squares so that I was sewing together some 16-patch blocks (and an odd one on the far right) to make it a little easier to handle. Click the word “maze” in the keywords to the right and you can see all the posts for the process of this quilt.

Leave a Reply

