More Coping

I decided to explain how I’m coping without a rotary cutter and mat. Yes, it’s like the days when I first started quilting. I don’t always want to measure, and luckily with the pouches I’m making I really don’t have to.

For this cat pouch I eyeballed the size of the cat fabric I wanted, then cut to the size I felt looked good. I centered the fabric by finding and marking the center of the batting/backing and the cat fabric, then pinning in place.

The blue accents to the side were just cut as a long strip of the matching height. I sewed it to one side of the cat fabric and trimmed, then did the second side the same. Flip, trim, press.

Again, just like before, the grey strips were cut to the appropriate height and stitched down. When the fabrics were all stitched, I trimmed the edges, making sure the two sides were identical. Last steps were to add the zipper and sew the edges.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.