Happy Accidents

I mentioned I had bought a pound of fabric strips. They are the ends of bolts, so they may be a bit uneven and can be anywhere from 3-5 inches wide. I knew I’d be using small pieces for patchwork so it worked for me. I could not picture how much fabric a pound would be. The internet was mostly not helpful, but being stuck far from home and not allowed to shop in person, I took the chance. I was thrilled with the variety and the amount of fabric I got for that bargain price.

There were blenders, wild prints, and some that were novelty prints including medical themed for nurses’ scrubs. I’ve had a lot of fun challenging myself to put fabrics together that will look better than each alone. Like happy accidents.

I’m making two basic shapes of zip pouches, coin size and makeup size. I will sell them at a flea market booth starting this summer at $15 and $20 each. Come look at some of the fabric combos I’ve made.

The fabrics are for scrubs, one with lungs and bones, the other has medication names.

The pink and green fabric has giraffes on it. I thought to disguise that with the pink stripe alternating.

More scrubs fabrics that really coordinate well. The skeletons on the darker blue are in yoga poses, that made me laugh.

I wanted to use the dark fabric and had to find something else with a similar color to the orange swirls.

I have plenty of fabric to keep going with all my zip pouches, hotpads, drink coasters, and anything else I can think of to quilt for my flea market booth. Wish me luck!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.