Special-ordered sweatshirt

My mother-in-law had two special sweatshirts ordered – Grandma’s pumpkin patch had the names of all her grandchildren. Granny’s pumpkin patch had the names of all her great-grandchildren.

After her death in 2019, my husband’s sisters wanted to know if I could think of anything to do with the sweatshirts. I’ve made pillow covers before out of t-shirts, but I wanted to do something different for these.

I decided to stitch around each name-with-pumpkin to make a small quilted ornament. I keep batting scraps in a tub in case they are useful for small projects, and it was certainly was.

I placed a scrap over the sweatshirt to gauge whether it would cover a row or two of names. Then I place it inside the sweatshirt and pinned it in place. I stitched around each name, making sure I had room to cut out each one between stitching two that are close together. The way the names were arranged, having a uniform shape would not work.

I am still working on the stitching, in between my other chores, and I haven’t yet decided what else to do with them. I was thinking of giving each sister a garland of her children’s and grandchildren’s names, joined by a green ribbon. At some point when these are complete, I may edit the post to add photos of the finished project.

One thought on “Special-ordered sweatshirt

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.