Something vintage and fun

I was reorganizing papers in my sewing room and came across this pocket folio. This shows my old way of getting and keeping patterns! Most of what I found was in one of two women’s magazines that I read at the time.

This was in Family Circle magazine, dated 12/3/85. The pattern pieces were drawn on a grid, and it was up to the seamstress to  transfer the lines to a grid drawn according to the instructions. I used a couple of different types of papers, even a spare legal pad.

It took a bit of time, but we had no desktop computer, printer, or access to a copy machine with a zoom feature. I drew the grid lines, and added the pattern lines. It was like an old art class exercise, and having had that experience came in handy.

That year, for Christmas, I made a dolly for each of my 6 nieces. Each doll had hair similar to the recipient. Cabbage Patch Dolls had made an entrance on the toy store shelves, and this was a handmade answer to that craze. The clothing patterns were sized to fit either this doll or Cabbage Patch Dolls.

It’s funny that I’ve kept the pattern and instructions all these years. A few years ago I made a doll for myself with this pattern, to carry as a prop for a Halloween costume.

5 responses to “Something vintage and fun

  1. I had the same pattern, but all I can find is one pattern piece and the same picture of the magazine page that you have. I’d love to have a copy of the doll clothes patterns. I made them for my daughter, and now I’d like to make them for my granddaughters.

    • Hi Jane, I can scan the pattern pieces and directions and send them to you. It’s a great pattern that makes a fun doll, and I hope your granddaughters enjoy them too! If you don’t hear from me in a week or so, please remind me.

  2. I have been trying to find the pattern for the doll, I made them for my daughter and strep daughter when they were young. Now she would like to to make them for her granddaughters. How can I get another copy of the pattern.

Leave a Reply

