Maybe not a new idea, but new to me

I was cutting the small corner squares for the new wall quilt I’ve started, and I was concerned over the waste of the dog-ears that will be cut from the corner. I’d lay a 3″ color square right sides together with a 5 1/2″ white square, and sew from the color corner to corner, then cutting off a decent-sized piece of fabric. Not very big, to include in a stash busting quilt, but far too big to throw in the trash.

It hit me that I should make tiny half-square triangles from the dog-ears. I can’t be the first person to think of this.

I did a trial run. I sewed the first seam, then moved to the outer edge 1/4 inch to sew a second seam. I cut between the two seams and pressed toward the darker fabric. I can use the blocks for a different project altogether, or I can incorporate them into this wall quilt as a border or something.

DAY 28 OF MY 50-DAY CHALLENGE

Leave a Reply

