Shopping means more fabric

It always does, I can’t help it. Well, of course I can help it, but when it’s so darn cheap at the thrift stores, I don’t want to stop myself.

Yesterday, Monday, I had plenty of errands to run for the camping trailer. I was able to squeeze in visits to two thrift stores that are favorites of mine. Here’s part of the haul:

bag of fabricThis was the contents of a bag for $1.99. There are scraps of corduroy in 5 different colors, a bit of velour, and a heavy fabric print, all of which can go to make great book purses.

holiday fabricI found two Halloween prints (one is Debbie Mumm, though I don’t pay much attention to the names in the selvages), one tiny gingerbread men print, a crackle paint texture print, and a great floral. All were $1/yard and I’m sure at that price I can find plenty of uses for them.

books for pursesShopping also means books! These are the books I picked up to make purses out of.  The two in the foreground were irresistible! The exotic print was what I found after taking off the dust cover, and the ideas for the purse are already swimming in my head. the small photo album with shells on the cover will make a great evening bag, and I’ve already started working on it. I added a length of chain with seaside charms, and started choosing fabrics.

seashore evening bag

It was my intention to take enough photos of the process to do a tutorial here on book purses, but I ran into some difficulty with the materials I chose. Hence, no tutorial today. I will soon, though. I love the concept of sharing my abilities with others that appreciate and want to do their own.

DAY 19 of the 50-Day Challenge

Leave a Reply

