Day Three, feeling productive

I’m enjoying this challenge I set for myself.  At one point I wondered if I would run out of projects and have to make up some baby quilts to have on hand for “just in case”….then I remembered. I’m supposed to be sewing some window treatments for my mother-in-law, and I offered to make a signature wall quilt to commemorate my Aunt and Uncle’s 50th wedding anniversary this summer. I need to have those blocks together and ready to sign by August, then I can put together and quilt it.

Meanwhile, back in the sewing room, I made a binding for the rainbow baby quilt and put it on. I bought a blue fabric, very close in shade to the blue in the quilt, and made my own binding. I have one of those handy little folder things so I can press the folds as it comes out of the end.

I do not claim to make perfectly executed sewn goods, but I love how I make them and I figure the imperfections would just remind the recipient of me. I found a stitch that I love, on my Singer Professional, for adding binding to a quilt. Since I know I will be off and on the mark as I sew, I found a zig-zag stitch with one longer reach every few stitches, and it looks pretty peachy to me. I love how it came out, and I’m very likely to use it over and over again.

Leave a Reply

