Stash Killer barely makes a bruise

I have a tradition, started almost 20 years ago when my oldest nephew and his wife were expecting their first baby. I decided every couple’s firstborn would be presented with a quilt. I looked at the sheer number of nephews and nieces I had, and the concentration around the same ages, and concluded I absolutely could NOT make a baby quilt for every future baby to come along.

So, when this particular baby’s development was announced, I looked around for inspiration. I came across this quilt and I decided to base a design from it.  You can see it at http://www.dsquilts.com/fabric_and_patterns.asp?PageID=185&ImageID=489

I found free patterns online (that’s me!) for paper piecing letters and then had to decide on the quotation to use.

I found enough colorful fabrics in my collection to use a different color as the background for each letter. The quote is from Henry David Thoreau. Since I didn’t have a set color scheme (except for being as colorful as my fabric collection) I continued with pulling fabrics from the tubs in my sewing room closet and using what I owned.

center panel

I had glorious dreams of emptying tubs and patting myself on the back. Nope. I can’t even tell where the fabrics I used had been packed away before, because there’s certainly no extra room in any tub in the closet. I learned that it takes a lot of quilts to noticeably whittle away at a stash. I may have to do a lot more stash-busting quilts to actually bust some stash.

I worked at adding to the quilt periodically. I couldn’t decide on a particular patchwork block to surround the center panel with, so I added borders. I kept adding borders. When it looked too dark I added light, when it looked too light I added dark.

One of my favorite parts of this quilt is the brick border. I liked it so much that I decided to use it as the binding for the quilt as well.

Today I sewed the brick binding to the edges and will be hand-sewing the back edge as I watch TV in the next couple of weeks. I will post a completed photo of the quilt when it is complete.

Never fear, I do still have many projects left incomplete that I can blog about.

Leave a Reply

