Restricted by the landlord, Inspired by my husband

We are renting short-term, and the landlord absolutely forbids anything on the wall. I can’t have shelves that would organize things so well in the sewing room, and I can’t give up a lot of floor space. We have several bookshelves that are doing duty as a pantry because of the shallow (and few) cabinets in the kitchen. I don’t really want to buy more furniture, even used, so a comment by my husband inspired this sewing room makeover. “I could even use boxes as furniture for a while.” So I will.

inspired temporary storage of fabric

I have some plastic bins on the floor with various craft supplies that I can’t seem to live without, but never open the box to access. Anyway, I decided to tape together some of the boxes we have saved for the next big pack-and-move, and use them as fabric storage. All this is supposedly set aside for doll clothing and accessories. I keep going to thrift stores and stumbling onto fantastic sales so I come home with another bag full of tops, tablecloths, and fabric remnants that I just know I can turn into something absolutely cute for a doll.

I stacked the boxes in the corner, and it also inspired me to rearrange most of the rest of the room. I think I can walk through it again. Even though I resent using valuable sewing time to clean, fold, and reorganize, I know I’ll appreciate it the first chance I need something and can immediately put my hands on it.

4 responses to “Restricted by the landlord, Inspired by my husband

  1. We started out our marriage 49 years ago using boxes for furniture – end tables in the living room, end tables in the bedroom, and yes, even stacked like you have. Smile and think of it as an investment into the future. :-) One thing that works well are the plastic crates – long ago they used them to haul milk jugs but are sold (and found everywhere) for crafts, (quite often $3-$5), you can turn them on their side and stack them for shelves, and when ready to move, stuff ‘em like boxes. Good luck!

    • My husband offered to get some metal shelving, but I don’t want to give up the floor space right now. This is a great solution for the short term, and when we move this summer, we’ll figure out long-term needs. Sounds like a good memory for you, seeing the boxes! :)

  2. Ok Donna, now you need to come and organize MY sewing area! :-) Our rental has a zillion holes in the walls. In fact, one small wall in our bathroom has 9 holes—I have no idea why! I understand limiting holes, but ZERO! Hmmm….that’s really hard. The boxes are a clever solution to your problem!

    • The blank walls are depressing, but I know it’s only a few months longer. I am very good at organizing, but then the clutter takes over before I notice and it’s hard work again. I’d be glad to help you organize!

Leave a Reply

