Bits and pieces

Oh boy, do I have some catching up to do.

Here is a picture of the Christmas table runner I started a couple of weeks ago.

I have not worked on it any more than I did that day. The next step is a 10″ square with an appliqued poinsettia in it, one for each end. Here’s a close up of the fabrics I chose.

I got distracted a bit. I made the book purse for my niece for a graduation gift, and haven’t got it sent out yet. I also still have the baby quilt on my couch, waiting for a box and a trip to the post office.

I’ve decided to make more of the book purses and list them in an Etsy store. I’m still setting up the store, but I noticed I’d be able to have a link from my blog directly to my store. Each item I finish making will be posted on the blog and then in the store, in case my readers should decide they can’t live without my purses!

Of course, that means I really must go to the thrift store tomorrow for their great weekly clearance sale. I’ll need belts, ribbons, purses (for their hardware), scarves and sewing notion grab-bags, plus anything else that catches my eye.

2 responses to “Bits and pieces

  1. Does this christmas table runner have a pattern. I think it is beautiful.

  2. There isn’t a pattern, I did my typical thing. I see pictures on the internet of things I want to make, and I figure it out for myself. Sometimes it works out nicely, like this one. I can tell you that the small squares are 2″ finished (2.5″ cut) and I used 5 fabrics for those. I used white squares for the edges and they were cut when the whole was put together. The large white squares are 10″ x 10″ finished, and I appliqued red circles and green leaves for holly.

Leave a Reply

